Was wondering if this would be a good Medium to grow in.

smoke2die4

So i am new to growing and want to make sure i got a good system running before i start planting. I was looking at Gold labels Special blend 80% hydroton and 20% coco mix and than i started to wonder if i could make the same kind of product without having to order it and wait. The only thing i want to change is instead of using coco is to use the groden grow cubes that are really small and mix it in with the hydroton. I will be running an Ebb and Grow system with this mix so i was wondering would this be a good mix and how often might I need to run the flood system to not over water my plants. Any help would be appreciated.

I'd support BS on that; hydroton on its own is absolutely fine; just start the seed or cutting in a small rockwool cube and then surround it in a pot with the clay pebbles. Clay pebbles are also completely inert and pH neutral, plus you can easily reuse them again and again, just give them a wash between grows. Rockwool isn't as stable from a pH point of view (one of the reasons you need to soak it for 24hours in pH adjusted water before using) and it will be a ball ache to separate all the small cubes if you want to reuse your hydroton.
The only benefit I can see is the rockwool mixed in with hydroton will retain more water, but if you flood regularly your plant won't dry out, and it's pretty near impossible to overwater with clay pebbles as they allow plenty of oxygen in around the root ball.

Hi smoke2die4

And welcome 2 the growers club :welcome:

If this is you first grow ever which i think it is,as you said you are new to growing.
Then i would stay away from hydro systems,do your first grow in soil as it is much more forgiving that hydo.
When using an ebb system there are many factors that come into play like:

PH
EC
Nutrients levels
Water Pumps
Air pumps
Timers etc etc