'Wreak Beach pin-up' acquitted of trafficking in pot-laced cookies

Hash

Vancouver - When Watermelon was arrested on Wreck Beach, naked and holding a tin of cannabis-laden ginger-snaps she had sold to undercover RCMP officers, it appeared to be just another sad case of the way the cookie crumbles.

But in Richmond provincial court this month, the ginger snaps proved remarkably durable and it was the case against her that fell to pieces.

Not that Watermelon, whose real name is Mary Jean Dunsdon, is out of the woods for commercially producing ginger snaps that have more snap in them than is legal.

She is still waiting for another Richmond judge to decide what to do with her after facing trial on a similar charge of possession of cannabis resin for the purpose of trafficking, the result of an undercover operation in July last year that resulted in a second arrest.

"I'm a baker, not a criminal, although my ginger snaps do have a bit of extra snap in them," Watermelon admitted after Judge Dennis Schmidt dismissed trafficking charges for her first arrest Sept. 8, 2001.

"There wasn't any pretext when I was in court. I wasn't pretending I'm not doing what I'm doing. I want to be a respected business person in my community but I have these legal challenges to deal with," she says.

These add up to three charges of possession for the purpose of trafficking and three of breaching an undertaking to stay away from Wreck Beach that she signed after her second arrest.

"It was either sign or stay in jail. But I was like a mouse who couldn't stay away from the cheese, and I'd keep sneaking down to listen to music and they'd catch me," she says.

When Watermelon was first collared three years ago it almost turned into a riot as the lone arresting officer had to take his naked captive away in front of 300 or so Wreck Beachers who didn't take kindly to the apprehension of their counter-culture pinup.