Couple Questions about my Growbox im building

MikeD86

Hello to all from sunny Florida!

I am currently constructing my first "grow cabnet". Getting a new dresser has inspried me to use my old one. I (like most) have a couple questions. My cabnet will be 3ftX2x3.5ft tall approx.. I am probley going to go the CFL route until funds are aviable for a HPS/MH setup.. What type of ventilation will i need? I am going to try to do 3 girls.. (is this adaquite space?).. Still debating weather soil or hy... I have talked to my friend he reccomended 100W of CFL lighting per girl... Is this accurate? Any help will be appreciated since i am a newbie. thanks so much!:thanks::roorrip:

Hey Mike and welcome to 420mag :grinjoint:

If you actually are building the cabinet as the thread title suggests, I would suggest you make it a little higher than 3.5' tall, as you will be needing some extra space for when you have an HID setup (HID lamps must be kept significantly further away from the plant than CFLs). So keep this potential scalability in mind. Also don't forget that if you're going hydro your reservoir will usually be under your plant(s), making you lose another foot of height or so.

If your cab is your old dresser and you have to make do with what height you have, CFLs might be the better way to go as your plants will be able to grow a bit higher. Downside is of course the 'weak' lumens vs HIDs.

Also, 3 plants might be too much for a 3 x 2 x 3.5 space. You might want to start with 2, see how they grow and flower and maybe go with 3 the next. Whatever you do, make sure you get some mylar onto the walls of your cab! :)

good luck man, make sure to start a thread showing up how your construction is going! :grinjoint::grinjoint::grinjoint: