Greenhouse for seedlings

Buzzy09

Hi, im new to germanating seedlings, i was just wondering once my seeds germinate(paper towl) is it sufficient to just put them next to a sunny window indoors or make a little greenhouse outside for them. Once big enough im growing in pots outdoors. How big do they have to be before putting them into direct sunlight outdoors? im in australia and its about time to start growing. think ive been reaserching too much ‍

Many home windows have an E-rating, which filters out UV...much of that filtered UV is necessary for plant growth. Your plant will do much better in natural sunlight or if they are in a GH the poly will only filter harmful UV.

I like to have seedlings with 2-3x sets of leaves before I put them in direct sunlight...before then I prefer indirect sunlight.

:goodluck:

Agreed. Lots of good small CFL bulbs out there that can help your sprout make it to outdoor size. Then put them in shady areas for a couple days so you can slowly move to direct sunlight. Should only take a few days to harden your plants enough for the move to direct sunlight..

Are you sure? You may want to take outdoor grow advice from a indoor grower. I've only grown 10 plants or so outdoors my whole life. You might be best listening to others LOL.

Ok so what do you suggest? I’m all for learning that’s what im here for. So much information out there. I’ve germinated four WWF seeds so that’s a start. Planted them in soil/pots today actually. Pots indoors next to sunny side window until they sprout, I’m thinking a couple of days. Next question is once sprouted do I leave outside in natural sunlight or indoors next to window as I am not using artificial light. Just starting spring here in OZ and it’s starting to warm up a little. Days are slowly getting longer.

Attachments

• E86E245B-52AB-45BC-880D-F8D071666972.jpeg
    E86E245B-52AB-45BC-880D-F8D071666972.jpeg
    563.9 KB · Views: 154
  • 9122BEF6-41D6-40F3-BED2-3199D6CE6794.jpeg