Seedling help

stephyyy

Hi all,
Just have a few questions if someone can provide some insight. I grow every year outdoor (Ontario) always starting from clones however, this year I’m going to take a chance and start from seeds for the first time and I need some advice. I will be starting the seeds indoors and want to move them outside for June 1st. Is this an appropriate date to move plants outdoors? Also, what will be the best germination method, paper towels or the soak in a glass for 24 hours? Also, what is a good brand of potting soil to buy for seedlings? I’m going to plant about 12, I have a 150w led bulb that I will put in a desk lamp, will this be fine for the 5/6 weeks indoor? Sorry, I’m just nervous I’m gonna fuck these up, I’m a seedling newb haha. Thank you so much :)

Hey stephfyyy. First :welcome: to the forum... A lot of us monitor the unanswered posts section, and will answer if we can.

I always germinate with the soak/paper towel method.

I grow in coco, so I'll leave the 'what soil' to someone else.

You can move your pots outside in the morning, and bring them in at night whenever the daytime highs are greater than 15°C / 60°F. This will help acclimatize your plants to the great outdoors.

You can start your plants indoors today, but you'll need to up pot at least twice. This will maximize your plant's size, and your harvest.

Good luck with your grow! Why not start a journal under Grow/Grow Journals on the green menu bar above. This will help us assist you if things go wrong.

You’ve been given great advice. I’ll chime in with the soil advice if you don’t mind. I often reach for a solo cup with some holes for drainage or a root riot plug.