How and when should I prune this plant?

jokerlola

How should I prune this plant and when should I start doing it?

This is an unusual clone. This is a Silver Mountain strain. Last fall I had a small branch break off during a wind storm so I threw it into an empty nutrient bottle with water for the hell of it. A couple weeks later I checked it and it had rooted so I put it in a pot and kept it on a window sill with some supplemental light to keep it from flowering. I kept it there all winter and transplanted it into it's current 5 gal Smart Pot. I've been growing clones outdoors for the last 4 years but I've never been very good at pruning so I always end up with a lot of popcorn buds. I what to try to change that this grow so I want to try to prune this and my other plants so they have only tops. I have topped it a few times but I never know how or when to prune to achieve this.

4237FF8E-95FD-4A2A-A0A2-C48A6BD60092.jpeg

AD52E5E8-ED43-4FF8-B96C-F14210624DBD.jpeg

33FECC8A-0F6E-4E3A-BE01-E0052F5B7C09.jpeg

Nice plant joker! Looks happy and healthy. :welldone:

Keeping in mind that outdoor plants will most likely be showing pistils in under a month:

I would start by supercropping the tallest branches to get them flat and allow the lowers to grow up, As the lowers grow above that canopy, I would start supercropping those branches to the same height as the original bent ones.

And anything not making it to that level gets cut off, everything else is a top. Like this:

full

There is nothing below that top layer of flowers.

Hope that helps!

How should I prune this plant and when should I start doing it?