To top or not to top

Groundtop

So, this is my first time growing cannabis, and I'm doing so in a small room so I am trying to accomplish a sort of micro grow, with better quality. I have FIM'd one of these babies [of course, the bushier one], but I was wondering if it would be ok to keep topping her until I am ready to flower? I want the best size yield I can get, and a bushy plant for both. The other girl hasn't been topped or FIM'd and I am wondering if it would be ok to do that to her as well. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 20181005_171544.jpg
    20181005_171544.jpg
    716.4 KB · Views: 73
  • 20181005_171537.jpg
    20181005_171537.jpg
    456 KB · Views: 83
  • 20181005_171533.jpg
    20181005_171533.jpg
    545.3 KB · Views: 79
  • 20181005_171526.jpg
    20181005_171526.jpg
    492.5 KB · Views: 74
it really has more to do with the roots that the stems. in the end the plant will produce a set of flowers and how big and thick they get depend more on the roots than the above ground plant. A single node can make a huge bud. In the end if you have more nodes you get smaller buds but you get the same weight in general regardless. It is a matter of the root ball and how fast you can get it to absorb.

I got a few grams less from a topped once plant vs a topped for 6 colas plant. I say definitely go for it if you want a bushy plant then top until you have 8 colas or 12.

Hi there, If you are growing in a height restricted area then go ahead and top/fim them, I normally do mine just after the 5th node, it may stunt the growth for a few days or a week, but you will end up with a much bushier plant that won't stretch to the ceiling (unless it's a pure sativa). So I say go for it.