What I have been doing while high.... Come on in and join me in the discussion!

09Giants420

So I thought of a good way to put my time to good use while I am not working on school work and tending to my girlfriends needs haha (jk I love her haha). What I have been doing is planning for the future. I will soon be able to start investing money towards my own house. I want a stick built house that I put together with my own two hands. I have a lot of construction experience in most fields and is actually tied to my major of civil engineering.

My first step was basically to make a full lay out of a basic set up I would want for my compound! Small house nice sized garage drive way landscaping etc..... Now this is where it gets interesting and I should now tell you my real motivations for all this planning.... TO LIVE ALMOST 100 PERCENT INDEPENDENT from the grid. Energy independance, independance from meter readers etc etc etc. I want to be self sufficient all the way as much as possible. I do want all the basic commodities such as a television and computer and nice appliances, but I want to do this in the most envirnmentally friendly and most energy efficient way possible....

Some of my ideas to get this project started....

1) Using as little help from the banks as possible. This is not the same as government grants or credits. I am speaking of loans. I will begin to buy my house each 2x4 at a time if I have to....

2) Buy the land first and develop it quickly using all of its resources to its max. Put my foundation in and all the utility hook ups required (This is where it gets tricky because I have to have all my energy sources planned out, I am trying to be almost 100 percent off the grid.)