600w GYO HPS system. Any good for $122?

properdoodles

600 Watt Switchable Ballast Hydroponic Grow Light Lamp $122.50

Reflector looks chince, but that is easily upgraded for the money saved on this system.

Any reviews out there?

According to that ebay listing, it comes with a MH bulb.

I was just wondering if anyone had any experience with the GYO stuff. That looked like a good deal, as they sell the same system for almost 300 bucks other places.

unfortunatly I don't know about GYO. never seen one. sorry. I didn't know they are making any 600mh bulbs other than conversions. Thats cool if they are, I'm a little behind on lighting. lol

I'm still pretty new to this. I assumed (doh) that MH were just as common in 600 as 400. But now that you mention it, I see only conversions for sale. Hmmmm indeed. I wonder what will arrive. :/

even if they do send a 600w MH conversion lamp your getting a good deal. The conversion lamp alone is like $79. I'm wondering if it doesn't maybe convert down to a 400MH or something? It will be interesting to see what you get. I'd just keep your receipt and put your hand on the digital ballast every now and then to make sure it's not getting too hot. I do like the digital ballasts, but when they were first introduced into horticulture they were notorious for breaking. I do believe that for the most part they're better now. I hope you update us when you get it!!
:peacetwo:

update:

Came with a 600w MH bulb as the auction stated. Seems to work great. Freakin thing is bright. :trance:

Its the same as the one they list on their site. I wont link to it as I dont know what the rules are.

Specifications:
Power: 600W
Initial Lumens: 54000
Color Temperature: 6500 K
Bulb Shape: T24
Base Type: Mogul E39
Rated Life: 10000 hrs
Color Rendering Index: 65
Installation Position: horizontal