Any thoughts?

cipher420

420 Member
So i have a DWC setup with just one plant as i am new to hydro. everything started out wonderful up until i did a res change. the only difference was i used tap water (de-chlorinated) then switched over to distilled. started to get slow growth and cupped and curlling leafs so switched back to tap but havent been able to recover.
symptoms are:
-slow/stunned growth
-tips curlling up and down
-dropping of some leaves
-tips of newer growth have a small amount of yellow
i keep the ph around 5.8-6.3 and never go full strength on my nutrients.
not sure of ppm or ec as i dont have the testers yet.
using 1 50 watt 6400k sunblaster CFL with one 26 watt 6400 sunblaster CFL with total lumen output of about 7500 lumens .
medium sized airstone and water pump with top dripper.
have a 100 liter tube filled with water with a 5 gallon bucket submerged in it to help control temp inside bucket.
cardboard is more or less just a temporary cover to make sure i get no light penetration.
got a spliter on my pump. 2 small spegetti hose up top with one inside directly pointed at pot . room temp is about 24 and res temp about 20
no added reducers but i am adding to next rez change.
cant figure out whats going on !
https://www.420magazine.com/community/attachments/20180804_132836-1-jpg.1584172/
https://www.420magazine.com/community/attachments/20180804_132840-1-jpg.1584171/
here are some photos

Random observations:

I know your plant is small, but it looks like root growth is insufficient.
Are you sure you are giving your root zone enough dissolved oxygen? If there's any doubt at all, add more.
I think it would be beneficial to limit the upper range of your pH more.
From the picture (which, admittedly, doesn't give a complete... picture ;) ), it looks like whatever you are using for a reflector is too small, allowing much of your lights' output to be wasted on the walls and probably ceiling instead of directing as much as possible toward your plant.