experts: please help me understand my tap water PPM

Proliferation

I am new to the hydro scene and am finally in the finishing stages of my grow room. I will create a journal for the room build as well as a grow journal once I start but have decided to wait till its 100% done so I can post it all at once.

I have decided to go with an 24 site ebb and flow system made by green-trees with a 100gal reservoir. It's the same exact setup as the Capp ebb and grow system just made by a different company and not using the stock 55gal res.

I have been trying to get a handle on what nutes I'm going to use and the different strengths to use depending on what week you are in, etc, etc. I have certainly been reading the journals of experts such as Pit Viper and Old Grower Dude for hydo information. I feel like I have a good understanding of that but the one thing I don't have a solid understanding of is my current tap water. I get a reading of 600PPM for my tap (well) water and wasn't sure how to account for that when adding nutrients to my reservoir. Should I just mentally reset the amount back to zero and keep track that way?

The other option was filtered water. A good friend of mine who is now a part owner in a local hydro shop was nice enough to give me a Hydro Logic Reverse Osmosis (RO200) water filter for FREE. I was initially planning on mounting this system above my res and using it whenever I needed water. However, the thing is so damn slow its painful and it also wastes a lot of water and that is my biggest problem with the system so far. I don't really care if I have to hook the hose up to it and come back in 5 or 6 hours once the thing has finished but it wastes a ton of water and I don't really want to run a waste line that just dumps the water back outside. even if i could get creative with using it for my garden outside, etc; I know I'm still going to be wasting a lot.