Guerilla Grow, Defoliation?

Achiyan

i literally am just going off on a whim. i just moved down south in the US and just looking for some out in the wilderness tips. the weather here is perfect so i figured i'd give it a shot. a few of my seedlings next season are gonna be taken care of but most of the others will just be wild and never looked after. just a curious little project to see if they literally spread like....well like weeds lol.

ok, so firstly, whats this defoliation i keep hearing about? like uh, i guess i mean to say which leaves am i cutting off or whatnot and whats the best way to defoliate. im not a total noob, but for the plants i wanna care for, i just wanna make sure i do things as best as i can.

thx.

Welcome to :420:

There are many different schools of thought behind defoliation. Some people will insist that it isn't necessary. Some people use it to give bud sites more light. Some people use it so resources aren't used by fan leaves and the plant can focus on the the buds. So you're going to see a wide range of opinions from different people.

Within those last two ideas, there are a few different ways to do it, but there's no right or wrong way, as long as what you do works for your grow, improves potency, and improves yield.

Growing outdoors, you may, or may not need to do it. It's all going to depend on how well the light penetrates the canopy. The strain you grow can also have an impact on this.

But I'm an indoor grower, and was growing with CFLs (upgraded to LED now, but will still use defol on my next grow)

I like to aim for improving light penetration. But we know that photosynthesis takes place in the leaves, so I like to think that removing too many leaves is a bad thing. So first I start with a little LST (Low stress training). I train my plants to grow flat and wide. At week 4 I top my plants so they don't get uncontrollable in height as well.