Hermie seeds? How are they created?

jokerlola

I grow only outside. I’ve been growing since 2018 from clones and seeds. I’ve never had a plant hermie but I have found a couple of stray seeds here and there in a couple of plants, in the trim after trimming. How are these created? Are they even hermie seeds or is it more likely that some stray pollen got on my plants from a neighboring grow in my area?

There is always the possibility that some stray pollen blew in from someone in the area who had a male plant.

More likely is that one or more of your female plants started to grow a few male flowers and one of those produced some viable pollen. So far I believe that there are two types of female plants that could produce these male flowers.

There are the female plants that will start to show male flowers about 3 to 3 1/2 weeks after the first stigma/pistils start appearing. They start at the bottom of the plant and as the flowering stage gets older they appear further and further up. TI see two choices, either try to save the harvest from having a lot of seeds by cutting off or pinching the male flowers as soon as they are seen. This includes cutting off any small sucker stems. Then check weekly but more often than not the male flowers will start to show up again after about 3 weeks These plants will produce the largest amount of seeds when I have grown them till harvest. And, naturally, any clones that were taken from them will follow the same pattern. As far as I can figure this is a genetic tendency inherent in the plant that will also be passed on through the seeds.