Interesting observation

StonerJ

OK, so I'm new to hydro. I currently have a single large female plant of unknown strain (from the "free" seeds in an order) that is primarily Indica based upon the leaves & bushiness of the plant. I started out in a 5 gal bucket using DWC. Throughout the veg cycle, everything was fine, plant was growing like crazy, no wild swings in pH, always very healthy looking.

Then, when I flipped the lights to 12/12 and added bloom nutes, changed them every week, it seems like the entire "attitude" of the plant (not that they have attitudes mind you) changed. With fresh nutes, the pH would plunge and twice a day I would have to raise it at least a whole point (1.0). Two weeks in, I decided to change to a bigger res so I moved it to 10 gal res and of course, I changed the nutes every week. I also run a 1/10 hp chiller so my res temps are a constant 68 degrees 24/7. Throughout all of this, the plant stayed green & healthy with no real outward showing issues.

So here I am, hitting the 6 weeks flowering mark in 2 days. From the looks of the trichomes, I'll probably start flushing her and getting her ready for harvest by mid next week. My observation is:

Every time I change nutes, I start out at 600ppm or less, pH settles in nicely at 5.8-5.9 when mixing the nutes into 8 gals of RO water. The next 3 days, the pH plunges by at least 1.0 (check and adjust twice a day), the ppm either rises or doesn't budge at all, and the plant continues to grow buds like crazy and put on weight. OK, so she's not really eating, although she continues to drink about 1/2 liter of water a day. Then after 3-4 days, the pH stabilizes, the ppm begins to drop by 30-40 ppm per day, she drinks more (1 liter per day). Each successive day after that, the pH rises slightly (maybe 0.1) and the ppm drops by 30-40 ppm. Seems like she'll just keep doing this as long as i do nothing but top her off with RO water.