Konvict's Bagseed Indoor Hydro - 2010

Konvict

Hello all, this is my first attempt at an indoor hydro so I will be needing some help as I go along. Heres some information to start...
  • 18 Gal. Storage Container
  • 20-30 Gal. Aquarium air pump
  • 2x 4 inch bubble stones
  • 4 CFL bulbs 100W 5600K 1700 lumens (each)
  • Technaflora Nutes

The seeds are a bagseed of some local homegrown middies. It is more of a nasally haze type. I will be growing these DWC style, 4 Plants in total for a start... Now some questions...
  • Should I invest in a bigger container?
  • CFL's from what I understand tend to make the plant stretch, any tips to control this?

Thanks for all your help in advance.
<3universal peace n love<3

:welcome: to 420! I don't have time to answer your Q at the moment, however I will ship a pm to a dude with this link... And someone will come help you out! :peace: :peace:and welcome to 420! ;)

to help keep your stretch down, you want to keep the lights really close to your plants. You can keep CFL's a couple of inches from the tops safely. Just put your hand above the plant for about a minute, if your hand gets hot, move the lights up a bit and try it again. I could keep my 42W CFL's an inch from my plants with no problems.

If you're planning on growing 4 plants, I would definitely pick up some more lights along the way. Generally, you want about 2500 lumens per plant. Also, just throwing it out there, a HID light will definitely make a world of difference. I grew using CFL's and HID, and there is a huge difference. Stick with what you have, and just try to make each grow better than the last.

Those lights will be enough to veg them, but for flowering I would definitely get a couple more of them.

Also, since you're planning on using CFL's, I would LST them to get the canopy as low and even as possible.. This way you can use more of the light as CFL's light intensity degrades quickly.