Light setup question

LoveGreen

Hi guys,:Namaste:
I am new to growing, so I keep searching for new stuff that could help me grow. I have been using CFLs for vegging, but since there are so many LED lights out there, I decided to try them out. I have another 300w LED light but I will use that for flowering. I read a lot about T5 lights and was impressed. It's a pain to buy too many CFLs and though I have quite a few, I was looking to buy something that would help me organize the grow. Since LEDs are energy efficient, I was impressed with T5 LED grow lights and decided to go ahead and buy 2 of 'em. You can see the pics set up by my husband and we still need to work things out. I have added two 45w CFLs for extra light. Until now, these babies (Special queen #1 and Exodus Cheese) were being grown under CFLs, but I would be happy to switch to T5 LED grow lights as shown in the pic.
Here are the specs of the T5 LED grow lights.
Wattage — 20w X 2 (replaces 36w CFL)
Color — Cool white
Spectrum — 6500k
Width — 4ft

:cheer::cheer::cheer::thumb::love:

IMG_116330.jpg
IMG_116232.jpg
IMG_116127.jpg

So my question is, what's the distance supposed to be between the lights and the plants? Are the plants safe with a distance of about 1-3 inches?
The lights do not get hot at all...
Any advice will be appreciated.
Thanks!
:thanks::thanks::lot-o-toke::goodluck::green_heart::green_heart::thanks: