Need help with grow set-up

dogg

First of all im a beginner and I havnt purchased anything yet but have the funds to just need to figure out exacly what I need.

Im a Card holder also.

I'd like to get started in my garage, as of now I can have 18 starters and 6 mature plants. So would two 1000 watt interchangable MH/HPS lights be over kill for 6 plants?

The space I have available is in my garage where its going to be freezing in soon, the walls are insulated and finished but its still freezing in there maybe I can insulate the garage door itself? I was looking at the 10x100' rolls of the double sided poly stuff at the grow shop along with the two 1000 watt light set-ups. A couple timers, ph tester, soil, nutes. For now I was just going to veg and flower in the same space by swapping bulbs out, maybe making A 10x10 inclosure with the poly?

Any help is appreciated.

Re: Need help with grow set-up.

2000 watts is overkill for 6 plants....2-600s would be a better choice.

If you need to insulate your garage door (roll-up?), Dow makes a nice product just for that purpose.

2000 watts is overkill for 6 plants....2-600s would be a better choice.

If you need to insulate your garage door (roll-up?), Dow makes a nice product just for that purpose.

Well is it over kill for 12 blooming plants? I may have 2 cards.

Or is the two 600 watters enough for 12 plants?

Not sure what DOW is, its a roll up double car? Home depot has a kit not sure how good it is.

Wow, I guess people actually build and finish double car garages without insulation in the walls....

My house was built in 2009 and out of curiousity I made a small hole in one of the garage walls/drywall and theres no insulation in there nor the rafters.....

Im in the Northwest if that tells you anything about the weather.