New to soil - Advice and discussion - UK

420Steve

Hello 420 growers,

I am new to organic soil growing, I need advice on the quantities, mixture of soil and the ingredients i have to hand.

To start things off here are the ingredients i got from my local hydroponic shop that i plan to use:

20151024_222305.jpg

20151024_222327.jpg

20151024_222356.jpg

20151024_222537.jpg

20151024_222557.jpg

20151024_222636.jpg

20151024_222720.jpg

What mixtures would be good, I have a 80 liter mixing container use this as a guideline.

Here are a few questions i have:

Does organic soil expire?
What soil mixture percentages should i use?
Should i use all the ingredients i have purchased?
PH of the water for organic soil?

Any advice or information on this would be greatly appricated! I look forward to reading some of your guys answers and info!

Thank you,

420Steve

Hey Steve...

There are lots of places to find this info. The best thing to look up is search for "supper soil" and you can find tons of recipes. That said I did a bunch of experiments in the past. My base soil mix is 1/3 good potting soil, 1/3 perlite, 1/3 precomposted steer manure. Adding some Humic soil at maybe 2 cups a gallon is good. The Great White fungus just sprinkle a little around the area you transplant to but a good ancient forest Humic bled should have all the goods in it.

With that mix you wont need any nutes in Veg. The manure is very important. You need organic material in the soil for the nutes you add. Just plain old soil will allow many of the nutes to just run through. Nutes will temporarily seep into the manure and then the plant can reaccess it as stored goods later instead of it all washing out the bottom. But Manure has lots of the veg cycle nutes in it so don't add anything but water to this mix until you got a good sized plant.

Does organic soil expire? Never waited long enough to find out sorry.
Soil mix % see above...