Please please help! Im stumped

bud-wizer

can someone help with my ppm readings? permalink

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hello there. is there anyone out there that can help me ?
rite i am wondering how 2 correct my ppm ... in my res the PPM is getting slowly higher,it started at 1350ppm which should b rite?and now its gone up to 1400ppm... i think that is telling me the plants are taking more water than they r nutes ? also the water coming out the bottom of my clay pebbles is reading between 1200/1300 PPM . does that mean my plants need more or less nutes adding ? can somone help me please as i am a newb and ill b forever gr8full.

re: PLEASE PLEASE HELP! IM STUMPED.:welcome:

Just add R/O water to bring the PPM down to where you want it. Yes, the plants will raise your PPM by drinking the water.

sorry wat is R/O water ? im abit new to this .

thanks for ur help

sorry wat is R/O water ? im abit new to this .

thanks for ur help

RO water is water that has been filtered threw a process that is called reversed osmosis. It should be netrel ph and ppm count that is 0 or very low like 25 ppm or less

u can get the RO water by buying a RO filter or you can go to the bottled water section at the grocers store. Look for drinking water in 1 gal. Jugs. or u can get those 5 gal. Jueg for drinking water coolers.Most bottled water will tell u on the label how if was purified or filterd

o , thats abit of an exesive way though isnt it . can i not just add ph correct tap water to the res ? would that not work ??? thanks for ur time .

depends on the tap water - I assume you have a TDS pen, so see if your tap PPM is under 100 - if so, it's most likely ok to use.

R/O systems aren't expensive, and if you keep growing in hydro... they are kinda important unless you are lucky enough to have good tap water.