Smokey Mountain Medical Marijuana Rights Rally To Be Held

The General

Tennessee - A Bluff City man has organized the Smokey Mountain Medical Marijuana Rights Rally in support of pending legislation in Nashville that would legalize prescribing cannabis to qualifying patients. Seth Green, who suffers from multiple sclerosis and said he has found relief from the use of marijuana in the past, said this week that so far about 25 people are planning to attend the rally. Those favoring the legislation will meet at 2:30 p.m. Feb. 8 at the Farmers Market, 500 S. Roan St. They will march from there to a rallying point at the University Parkway intersection.

Green was diagnosed at birth with cerebral palsy, and at 13 he was diagnosed with seizures and multiple sclerosis. "As the years went by, I started studying the procedures and medications that might help me," he said. "Marijuana has no side effects, but some of the medicines I was on brought on depression and I was not sleeping. I'm in pain every day, but I don't like to take pills." State Rep. Sherry Jones, D-Nashville, introduced legislation last week dubbed the Koozer-Kuhn Medical Cannabis Act, which would allow statewide legal protections for qualified patients authorized by their physicians to engage in cannabis therapy.