Tell Me This Is Normal

I'm just getting started in mycology.

I know that too much moisture can be bad, and this looks like a lot of condensation.

This is the North Spore Micro Bin. I'm in that period when waiting for full colonization.

Should I let this run its course before fruiting, or should I gently remove the top and paper towel the moisture drops?

I guess what I am asking is, should I remove condensation buildup along the process or should I wait until it is time for fruiting?

_MG_3969_Nik_openWith.jpg
_MG_3968_Nik_openWith.jpg
_MG_3967_Nik_openWith.jpg

FAE might be the issue.

I thought while colonizing, there was to be minimal exposure to the outside world.

So I haven't lifted the lid once in about 10 days.

It's not "sealed" shut. Meaning isn't a rubber seal on the lid. Plus, I do have painter's tape around the surface-level holes.

Correct this line of thinking if you will:

(1) Creating the mycelium (i.e. in grain jars) - in a dark place, kept around 80ºF with a filtered vent hole on the jar lid.

For this, I converted an Ice Chest into my space. I have two heat mats taped to the sides that are on temperature controllers.

(2) Colonizing in Substrate - low 70ºs (normal home temps) and 12 hours of light, only exposure to air is through microspore tape at surface level.

(3) Fruiting - Low 70 temps, 80 - 90% humidity, 12 hours light, and now you commence opening up the MicroBin holes with microspore tape or purpose-made filters (i.e. like the ones from Microppose). Occasionally fan and mist the inside walls (getting very little on the fruiting surface).

• I have a humidifier with a flex hose running up to the top. I plan to keep it at 80 - 90 percent when Fruiting.
  • Tent has a small exhaust fan running at a slow speed 24/7 to ensure fresh are is coming in, with the vent flaps.
  • I also have a couple of USB fans (7") running gently to keep air circulating.