The Cannabis Closet: Getting Caught

A reader writes:

I was a freshman at University of Maryland College Park in the fall of 1996. Back then, Cannabis_female_flowers_close-up smoking pot then was stigmatized, but pretty common anyway. My roommate knew about my occasional habit (once or twice a month, tops) and did not approve. He knew I had a bowl in my part of our closet.

One morning, when returning from calc class, I found a campus officer in my room, being shown my bowl which had been removed from my closet by my roommate. He had called the police simply because he feared his future placement in the Israeli army was at jeopardy due to the bowl's presence in our room. This gave the police probable cause to search all of my belongings, finding a very small amount of 3 month old "shake" in the process.

Since the co*aine-related death of Len Bias in 1988, the university had implemented a zero tolerance policy to drugs. That policy led to me being removed from campus 4 weeks into my freshman year, and put on mandatory drug testing. I'm very fortunate that I have since pulled out of that dark time professionally, and now have a good job and career. But this incident was definitely a catalyst for my academic decline.

Was it my fault? Yes. I should have known better than to breach the very clear university guidelines on campus. But what is very frustrating to me is that pot is treated like deadly drugs in terms of policy. If we are going to advance a sane marijuana policy, we have to decouple pot from "drugs".

Another writes:

I'm a 23 year old finishing up with school. I've smoked weed on and off since high school. In college, I actually made a rule for myself; I could smoke weed if/when/as much as I wanted, as long as my grades stayed up. And they did. And I've held two steady part time jobs, been active in extra curricular activities, traveled and completed an internship.