Toking in secret all the time. why?

HighAndMighty

Gang,

I'm new to 420 these past 15 months. Good times. Enjoy much.

Question: why do pot-heads go through so much trouble to do it in private? Even at parties where it's clearly accepted?

For example: My poker game is enjoyed by the same 10-15 regulars (all good friends) every Thursday. Half of them smoke 420. The game is held in "the Man-Garage" of a friend's place, 100 yards down the long driveway from his house. Nothing but guys in the man-garage playing poker; all of us between 21 and 51. All the wives and g/fs, if they bother to come at all, are all hanging out in the house far down the hill. They never come into the man-garage during poker.

But nonetheless, any guy who wants to toke, still they usually pair up, and they always go outside the garage to do it. Like it's a secret. But they often go out in pairs, or 3 or 4 at a time. It's an "open secret."

(by the way, I only eat the stuff, so I openly eat my happy-cookies at the poker table, and this is a known thing)

Why the "secrecy?" I understand the "hush hush" in other places, but I don't get it here. And I've observed similar attitude at other parties, such as tonight. Tonight I was in a small party with 6 people sitting around talking - 4 of us regular users. The 2 who chose to light-up tonight could not bring themselves to do it in front of others, so they hid down the hall and smoked.

Thank you for any insight into the psyche of the 420 user.

Re: Toking in secret all the time... why?

I think a lot of it has to do with the fact that some people are self concise. I mean they probably are smokers for a while and have maybe done it for multiple years. 90% of that time is done with really small groups and trusted friends. So some people dont feel comfortable in a large group and smoking. They feel like they may be patronized even though it is accepted. Or, they just get more comfortable in a small quieter setting.