Topping outer stems

Gardinhackle

Hello, this is my first year growing cannabis so I have been watching lots of videos and trying to learn. I have three Death Bubba plants in 5 gallon buckets outdoors.

My question pertains to pruning, I have topped the main stem of my plants and two of the plants have had the outer branches topped as well. I noticed many new shoots growing from the sides of the stems and wonder if I should be removing these despite topping the stems earlier or do I leave them to grow now. They started as clones and are 4 weeks old. I've included a pic as an example.

51287296921_22fabe2ed9_z.jpg

Any advice would be appreciated.
Gardinhackle

Hey Gardinhackke,

I would leave them. Those shoots are called growth tips, they are branches off the main trunk with a fan leaf just below them - they are the portion of the plant where buds will grow from.

It’s all good because you are new and didn’t know better but your post is in a rather obscure section (International/NorthAmerica/Canada) where there isn’t much activity. For future reference - it’s best to post questions under the main FAQ (frequently asked questions) section this way you will get much more input from a whole crew of growers

I’m going to ask the moderators to move your post there now,

welcome aboard!

Thanks for the reply, sorry, I guess I didn't look close enough on where I should be posting my question. If the moderators could move it I'd appreciate it but I think you answered my question clearly and I appreciate it. I'll leave them alone! Some of the videos I've watched show some aggressive trimming techniques so I thought maybe I need to do the same. I appreciate your advice and will leave them.