Weeding Out Anti-Drug Attitudes

"Anyone who's going to read your article has either used marijuana or knows someone who has, and they know that person is not a criminal."

That's how cannabis legalization activist, co-founder of the British Columbia Marijuana Party and former Vancouver NDP candidate Dana Larsen ended our phone interview.

Larsen, who will speak tonight at the Grad Club, has been involved in the cannabis anti-prohibition movement since his teenage days.

"When I was a student at Simon Fraser University, I started a club on campus. I guess that was kind of my first activism," he said.

In 1994, shortly after he graduated, Larsen helped create Cannabis Culture Magazine, where he was editor until 2005. Marc Emery, the leader of the British Columbia Marijuana Party and so-called "Prince of Pot," served as the publisher.

Larsen said that, because the magazine's office in Vancouver was close to that of the Marijuana Party's which frequently experienced police raids, running the publication was sometimes difficult.

"Working with Marc Emery I've seen lots of interesting things happen over the years," he said. "We would all take pay cuts and the magazine would get delayed."

Emery, who's facing extradition to the United States for conspiracy to distribute marijuana and marijuana seeds, used to run a store called Hemp BC, which played a major part in selling cannabis-related paraphernalia. In 1998, police seized his entire stock.

"When Marc was running Hemp BC, the police would raid and take all the bongs and pipes," Larsen said, adding that bongs and pipes are still illegal in Canada, though the law is rarely enforced. The sale and distribution of marijuana is illegal in Canada, but its use has been permitted for medicinal purposes since 2001. In 2006, Larsen founded the Vancouver Seed Bank, which sells seed varieties by mail-order, including those for banned plants such as marijuana and coca, which is used in the production of cocaine.