Absolute beginner KIS organic questions

RO or Tap Water that tests 300ppm?

• Tap water BRAPPPP water

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

triangle

Hey all! New grower here and I think I bit off more than I can chew.. I bought a bunch of KIS soil, amendments, and a 150 gallon geo pot.

However I feel like I’ve listened and read about just simply too many methods and podcasts and weird ingredients that I’ve totally confused myself

I have literally 500 questions but usually if I ask a bunch at once, I rarely get all of them answered well so I’m just gonna start with a couple extreme basic first questions

1. For a novice, would I be better off doing way smaller pots instead of the 150 Gallon? Just 10 or 20 gallons but multiples? I have a 5x5 tent designated for this, aside from a dedicated 4x4 Veg tent

2. If the answer is dive in to the big 150 Gallon, can I just place it directly on the gorilla tent floor? Or should I have some kind of pallet, riser, or plastic tray?

3. Does anybody know of a loose watering or feeding schedule I should be following for KIS soil? Or is anybody aware of what KIS recommends people to do with their soil mix? I don’t know how to begin really.. i was going to add 1lb of Red Wigglers, and lay down cover crop. I also have barley straw for mulch.

4. I have a good RO system, that tested a perfect pH of 7 and 0 TDS with a bluelab pen at my hydro shop. Do I need to add CaMg+ ? I’ve had problems with a test grow when using straight RO water in smaller pots, but can’t be sure it wasn’t any other problem

5. RO or just tap water with chloramines removed? Is it much less important for us to use RO? Or still good. Our town has quite hard water, comes out of the tap at 300

I have a bunch more ready to fire off but I’d really really love to start here

A big thanks in advance guys!!!!