Experienced DWC-ers, please stop by and chip in

vintagedvd

Hello everybody,

Please skip the first phrase.
I am a beginner grower in coco and autopot and all I can say is that it's a nightmare for me. My PH and ppm fluctuates so much, and my girls are barely alive. I suspected my coco and transplanted in a better brand. It was better but not good. I than transplanted in coco that was rinsed and left for 2 days in 5,8 PH water. It was even better bat far from best. Long story short, I want to try another medium.

I can't wait for the current grow to finish because I want to try the DWC, reservoir, air pump and stone recipe.
I just fell in love with it on YouTube. The budget is big and I want to grow 4 plants per "season" , fast and easy.
My plan is to buy :

- a single reservoir for the 4 girls. I heard 1 plant per pot works best because of root entanglement, but others say that if you pull out the netpot once every few days the roots don't have time to tangle. Even if roots tangle, what is the bad aspect of it? I don't get it...
I already have the autopot valve which can help top off with fresh 5,8PH water from a second reservoir (I already have a plan to implement it). The reason for this is I leave home for 3-4 days occasionally for work. I can do 1 pot per plant thing, but it will be a hassle I think. This is the main question guys. What do you think? 1/4 vs 4/4 ,

- a big pump. As I said, for me the money are not a problem, but noise is. I heard big pumps are less noisy. I'm thinking about a Eheim 400. Nice reviews about that pump.

- some big airstones. I guess 2, good brand ones should suffice.

What I don't get at all is :

- do I need a second pot/reservoir for seeds/clones, or I just need to tweak a little the main reservoir until the roots start?

-for a bushy, 1,3-1,5 meters plant, do I need a certain net-pot in terms of volume, so I can be sure it can withstand the weight of the plant, or a 1/4 gallon one will suffice?