FFOF & Flush & Plain Water - Equals Magnesium Def?

TheFertilizer

So this plant was looking a little nitrogen toxic a week ago or so, so I flushed it with some water, waited for it to dry out and transplanted from a 3 gallon pot to a 7 gallon. Both had FFOF in it. I've never used ocean forrest before and I have an issue with it.

Well always hearing about how hot ocean forrest is, I assumed I could just keep giving it plain water. It started to discolor in a pattern that looks like magnesium or nitrogen def., I can't tell, but I am confused also because it seems like it has some burnt tips.

Does FFOF need calmag supplements even though it's loaded with other nutrients? I gave it a full dose of complete nutrients (400 ppm mix so not too hot) but wondering if I should move forward with calmag supplementation with plain water in an alternating pattern, or if I should continue with full nutrients but maybe at half strength to account for the nutrients in the soil.

I'm using GH Flora Nova but I think it's gone bad, which could account to for this because I have been counting on it for calmag. GH says the stuff stays good for 1 year, it's going on 2 now. I mixed it half and half with Growmore All Season Plant Food, but that doesn't have calmag either. So the only calmag it has got for a week or two is what is in the soil and in my expired Flora Nova. I gave it some Botanicare CalMag yesterday and she looks much perkier.

IMG_20170323_093138.jpg
IMG_20170323_093146.jpg

It's easy to see the tips being burnt here too but that confuses me because it would seem to suggest an abundance of nutrients, yet clearly there's a lack of either nitrogen or magnesium. I didn't get a picture of the lower leaves but they're doing it too. Lower and new growth.