NG's Northern Lights AutoFlower, First Grow Ever, Aerogarden Versus Traditional Soil

NewlyGrowin

Greetins everyone!

I am going to attempt my first grow and document the train wreck for all to see. Feel free to chime in and offer guidance, suggestions or raspberries as desired! I have never done this and am sort of flying by the seat of my pants.

What are we growing?
Northern Lights - Autoflower (Cuz I am a complete newbie at this.) - from CKS!

Equipment

Seed 1
  • Aerogarden bounty Elite (I commandeered the wife's herb garden for this experiment.)
  • Advanced nutrition nutrients
  • built-in 47 watt multi-spectrum LED

Seed 2
  • 5 gallon pot
  • Kellogg's organic patio soil with added perlite -- bat guano, poultry manure and kelp meal additives
  • Advanced nutrition nutrients
  • 300W multi-spectrum LED

How are we growing?
This part will be fluid, I need to adapt as things go since I haven't done this before.

The big standouts for me are:
  • check PH in the aerogarden, keep it about 6-ish
  • Add nutrients about a week in
  • Crank up the light once I hit about 3 leaves and they are as wide as the pot they are in.
  • I will have a small fan blowing across the potted seedling and a ceiling fan circulating air around the aerogarden.
  • Once every week or so I should change the water in the aerogarden.
I have taken two of my 10 seeds and germinated them using the water/paper towel method as CKS recommends. They turned out perfect. I took one of them and planted it in a "jiffy pot" about 1/4" deep in moist soil and set it under a 50-ish watt LED from the Aerogarden. The other seedling is in the standard spongy receptacle that fits in the Aerogarden. I had to pat a little soil onto the top of the Aerogarden pod to cover the tap root, it wouldn't completely fit inside the spongy thing. (technical term.)

Expected results

Aerogarden