White dots & specks - Nutrition or mites problem?

dh420

Hi all,

I'm quite new to the growing plants things. This is my first time and I am about 4 weeks in now. I grow outdoor in Spain.

I'm growing 3 plants of the indica Green poison. They could def use some more wind and sun but I am trying to make the best out of the situation of my balcony.

Since this morning I'm discovering some white spots on the plants, it seems that one plant is having the most issues but all are some how affected. Im getting white spots which some googling led me to believe it are spider mites. However comparing photos and the stage where in all the examples are given I dont know for sure.

Can you guys help me out and save my babies?

IMG_20160611_124153.jpg

IMG_20160611_131728.jpg

re: White dots & specks - Nutrition or mites problem?

It's not mites. Mites make little pin-dots all over the leaf. I don't know where you live, so can't Offer a bug diagnosis. But look underneath the leaves with a magnifying glass and see if you see anything eating or scraping the leaves. The damage is random, so I suspect some kind of insect or snail in your area, if you are growing outdoors.

If not pest-related, it could be heat burn, like if you spray your plants and let the droplets act like a lens and burn the leaves.

Nute burn occurs in patterns, not in random patches, if soil-related. Did you or someone accidentally spill undiluted nutes on the leaves while feeding? Did anyone spray insecticide or garden nutes on the other plants or lawn and the overspray hit the leaves?

So, bottom line: it is physical damage of some sort. You will have to track down what activity occurred in the vicinity of your plants.

re: White dots & specks - Nutrition or mites problem?

Possibly powdery mildew?

Look at the patches with a magnifying glass. If the patches look fuzzy, it's powdery mildew. Mcgert may have a point.

Hi guys,