Fourth Crop. My first Journal! White Castle & Raspberry Cough!

funtogow

Okay, so I decided to start a journal for my next (fourth) grow in an effort to better my knowledge and how-to on growing. Looking to get some helpful hints or tips to better quality and yield of my plants. I’m a guy with a horticultural background to begin with but am always open to new and innovative ideas to better myself and my abilities. I pride myself on growing 100% organic weed for personal and friend use only. So rewarding sometimes and a lot of fun!

Like I said, I’m fairly new to growing Mary Jane and am now working on my fourth crop. I have been growing the variety ‘White Castle’ exclusively but want to venture out and try new varieties. I started with feminized seed purchased from Nirvana for my first crop and have used vegetative cuttings from that plant for the remaining crops.

The first three crops were successful but had their own individual issues/flaws along the way. What crop doesn’t have challenges? Right? My first crop, (one plant) went great. I got the “eager beaver” syndrome and harvested way too early but the quality was very nice. My second crop, (one plant) was a challenge. She got spider mites and that greatly affected the quality and yield. My third crop, (two plants) are in their fifth week of flower and are doing awesome! One is a little behind the other though. Can’t wait to harvest but willing to wait till it’s time.

This is the set-up/practices I utilized with the first three crops:

Use an indoor 3’ x 6’ closet lined with metallic silver emergency blankets.

Soil is a 75%/25% mix of Garden Bloom soil building compost and Black Gold all purpose potting soil.

Pot size began at 2” then transplanted to 6” then 3 gallon then 7 gallon.

Use one ballasted lighting unit capable of a 400 watt bulb but I’ve been using a 150 watt high pressure sodium bulb.

Not sure what the average relative humidity or soil pH has been. I haven monitored either of these.