Givin' up the Guilt

flipflopgirl

Hey everyone, glad I found this website. I've been struggling for several years now since rediscovering the single "thing" that has made a truely positive contribution to my life.... and that's smokin'.

I am naive at best because I read terminology in these forums that I truly do not understand. I am from the "old school" days of smokin a few high times in high school and then didn't touch the stuff for 10 years and started back after I didn't have to maintain a clear system for employment.

I've been smoking pretty much on a daily basis for about 5 years now and what broguht me to smoking was severe depression and panic and anxiety. At first I thought it was the weed, making me depressed and sick, but after really taking inventory of my life, I've been suffering from chronic depression and panic disorders since the age of 12. What 12 year old attempts suicide? It was at the age of 12 I found this little bag of weird smelling stuff in my dad's tool box. He was a cop at the time so he told me to stay out of the tool shed because he may have important cop things there - so that's the first place I looked.

My first experience smoking.... was as if I was a born smoker. I had never seen it, have never seen anyone roll it or smoke it and yet I instinctively knew how to roll me one. I smoked it... big deal... and didn't really go back to it until high school.... and then later after I was "officially" diagnosed with chronic depression, panic disorder, agoraphobia..... oh yeah... and a raving case of HepC.

I tried to go through some chemo treatments for the HepC and the smoke really helped out through that experience. I feel it was the chemo drugs that really affected my anxiety and depression (they said they would) and its been over a year and I am still screwed up from the effects of chemo.