I have a few questions - Total Newbie

About400and20

Hello,

This is my first time growing.

I don't even know if this is the correct board for such questions so please move me if i'm offtopic.

I'm planning on growing a single Northern Lights plant in soil in a grow closet i created measuring 50cmx55cmx90cm (20''x22''x35'') but i have a few questions!
First of all, the height seems alittle bit limited, its 90cm but the plant can only grow 55 centimeters before touching the 200W CFL lamp if i have it on the highest position. Should i end vegetative growth early or will some good LST prevent them from reaching the lamp? I'm only growing 1 plant in 1/4 of a square meter (3 square feet) so there is alot of room to expand!

Also, watering: I searched on alot of forums and there were many different ways of knowing when to water, but since i plan on doing an automatic watering system i need to know exactly when and how much to water. My pot is quite big (i don't know the math behind it but it has 24cm diameter (9.5'') and 20cm height (8'')).

Temperatures are also quite worrying me. Right now i have an incomplete air circulation (only intake fan, running from USB 5v instead of 12v, so its CFM's are very low) and the temperatures near the exhaust hole on the top reach 40C (104F) after a few hours while the temperature near the soil is 30C (86F). (but i will fix this soon with 2 fans). What should the temperatures near my plant be at most? Should i have a third fan blowing on the plant as well? Both the exhaust and the intake holes take indoor air and there is no way i can make it outdoor, is this going to be a problem? Am i also going to need a carbon filter? Or will the scent of one NL plant be too little of an issue?

Thanks for bearing with my questions!

Re: I have a few questions [TOTAL NEWBIE]

Welcome to the site!!