Is trimming too much bad?

purple_smoke

Recently i have been trimming about every three days w/ the theory that for every leave i cut, two more grow back. Is this true and does less leaves mean more bud sites? Which are the fan leaves?Im very new to growing so any help is appreciated
thanks
BURN ONE!:Rasta:

No ! Stop cutting off the leafs .Cutting a leaf won't make Make 2 leafs ....it will rob the branch from nutrient sugars that it needs to grow. However....If you cut the tip of a branch, 2 growing tips will form. Fan leafs are the large leafs. The ones that transform light into living matter.:peace:

no!! leaves are the most important part of the plant. its how it makes energy so please stop cutting your babies! it can also put them into shock.

whaqt do u maen bu cut tip of the branch?

I thought that it was self explanitory , but then maybe not. At the end of the branch there will be two leafs , between the two leafs you will see other new growth. Carefuly remove that new growth, leaveing the two large leafs. At the place where the two leafs are attached to the branch , two growing tips will form instead of just one. :peace:

Trimming to much= bad. However, trimming just enough can in fact be beneficial.

Energy transference is the objective. By trimming the smaller undergrowth you can help the plant concentrate more on bud production. In a typical small homegrow set-up, the smaller 3 and 5 finger leaves located on the bottom of the plant recieve almost no light and they contribute very little to photosynthesis. By trimming these away over time the plant will put the extra energy into flowering, which is what it wants to do.

Part of knowing what and when to trim comes from expierience, but there are a few guidelines:

DO-
-Trim smaller leaves at the base of the plant during flowering.
-Trim any dying or damaged leaves off. These are nothing but a burden.