Lights and their ventilation.

Noobster

Hey guys,

Just wondering if I could get some help on understanding lighting and its ventilation needs.

Q's
1. If I am using a grow tent, do I need a "cool tube"?

2. Are their fans that suck air into and out of cool tubes or is that not necessary?

3. can I somehow connect the reflector ducting to the carbon filter exhaust ducting?

can someone plz explain to me the relationship between ballasts, reflector, and bulb? i have no experience and i just can;t figure out if i got a grip on it or not.

thanks for any and all info guys!

cheers.

:ciao:

Re: Lights and their ventilation...

1:When growing in a tent a cool tube is not need unless you can not control temps.

2:You can have a rvk fan suck or push the air through the tube, one on each end is not needed!

3: yes

4: *Quote* can someone plz explain to me the relationship between ballasts, reflector, and bulb? i have no experience and i just can;t figure out if i got a grip on it or not.

Are you for real??

Tbd

thanks.

there's a lot of different reflectors and i don't know which ones are good for a tent. i guess that's what number 4 was referring to. for the bulb i'll be using a 400 HPS.

I don't have a cool tube, but I do have a vented reflector. I use 6" ducting to pull air out of my tent/

Carbon filter-ducting-Reflector-ducting- strong can fan- outside tent.

My tent is 5x5 and I use a 1000 watt light in there. Outside air is 70 degrees. Inside with light on is 73. I'd say my set-up works pretty well.

I don't have a cool tube, but I do have a vented reflector. I use 6" ducting to pull air out of my tent/

Carbon filter-ducting-Reflector-ducting- strong can fan- outside tent.

My tent is 5x5 and I use a 1000 watt light in there. Outside air is 70 degrees. Inside with light on is 73. I'd say my set-up works pretty well.

thanks Caddie. that makes a lot of sense. i was debating between these two ways of doing the ventilation...