Looking For Grow Room Advice Starting From Scratch - Have Some Ideas

kristas08

Hello 420 friends! I'm new here and looking for some help and understanding. I've read a bunch of posts and been doing research for a week or so now without purchasing anything. I would love if you guys could look over what I have so far and make some suggestions. I'm totally open to constructive criticism and any ideas that would be of assistance.

I grew up helping my uncle with his yearly outdoor grows and have seen many indoor setups but I have to admit I am not experienced in this area of expertise. I have an extra room I finally want to put to good use and I'm ready to start with a soil grow from seeds. The room has plenty of space for an 8x8 but due to costs i'm looking at something more like a 5x5 to start. I'm looking at the Gorilla tents and was wondering if you guys really recommend them vs. old fashioned mylar. If it is worth the price to you guys I will definitely invest in one for myself. I was thinking of running with a 1000w HID but I've also seen good yields with something like 4 400w Mars II's. That is my first real dilemma - which one is better for 3-4 Indica strain plants? I'm taking into account power usage, cost, heat, etc. I was looking at a 5x16 Phresh Carbon Filter @ 400 CFM. Then maybe a 6' fan?

My mother-in-law is quite the gardener(not of medicine, mostly foods/herbs) and has agreed to assist me as far as soil/nutrients/watering goes. I mostly need to configure the lighting/ventilation system to optimize the space i'm using. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

nothing wrong with mylar mate:) i prefer HID lighting over LED,not bagging LED's but they still have a long way to go "veg too long"