newbie looking for help!

Dentu50

Greetings all! I'm a newbie, trying to grow. I just purchased a grow tent that is 4x2x5. I want to use cfls so power consumption stays under the "radar". I have a few questions to all those advanced growers out there....How many plants can I grow in my tent. 2nd, I was going to use round hanging shop lights with reflectors, with splitters so each one holds 4, 26w bulbs. I was going to have 3 of these in the tent...is that enough light? Also, do I need an exhaust fan with a carbon filter, and does it need to run constantly? I've been reading different peoples thoughts on growing, and the amount of light also confuses me a bit. Some say the lights should be on 24/7, some say 20 on, 4 dark until ready to bud, then most say 12/12. Which is the best, and when do you water them, when the lights are on or off. Thanks in advance for any help...being disabled, I've found out that having bud helps me cut down on the amount of pain pills I take, and I'm so tired of paying such high prices on the street.

Ok for lights, you can use CFLs, or LED. A smaller LED panel can actually use less power than the number of CFLs you plan to use.

I grew with 14 CFLs, a total of 361 watts, and switched to an LED that cost me $105 shipped, and my LED panel uses 150-170 watts now.

If you add up the cost of all the CFL bulbs, fixtures, splitters, and wires you'll need to purchase, compare those costs to an LED. These LEDs work great, they're a forum sponsor, and come with a 3 year warranty: Mars Hydro LED - the Best Solutions for Horticulture and Indoor Plants

Every opinion varies on how many plants that you can fit based on the growers personal growing preferences. For me, I like to grow my plants shorter, but wide, and I would grow 2 plants in a tent that size, with each plant taking up roughly 4 square feet of space. Total height on my current plant is 18" tall, and 2'x2', or 4 square feet.