pH adjustments

newsisnoise

i'm curious if anyone has used carbonic acid to lower their pH. i figure non-sodium carbonated water has "some" of this and could be useful to lower pH.

Thoughts?
:thanks:

im a grow noob but have a background in chemistry. unless im missing your point...carbonic acid is basically

"Carbonic acid (ancient name acid of air or aerial acid) has the formula H2CO3. It is also a name sometimes given to solutions of carbon dioxide in water, which contain small amounts of H2CO3. The salts of carbonic acids are called bicarbonates (or hydrogen carbonates) and carbonates. It is a weak acid. Carbonic acid should never be confused with carbolic acid, an antiquated name for phenol.

Carbon dioxide dissolved in water is in equilibrium with carbonic acid:

CO2 + H2O ⇌ H2CO3
The hydration equilibrium constant at 25°C is Kh= 1.70×10−3: hence, the majority of the carbon dioxide is not converted into carbonic acid and stays as CO2 molecules. In the absence of a catalyst, the equilibrium is reached quite slowly. The rate constants are 0.039 s−1 for the forward reaction (CO2 + H2O → H2CO3) and 23 s−1 for the reverse reaction (H2CO3 → CO2 + H2O).

***Carbonic acid is used in the making of soft drinks...(LOADED WITH CO2)***
inexpensive and artificially carbonated sparkling wines, and other bubbly drinks."

ya most of that is "bla bla bla"

but it sounds like it is good for lowering pH but the fact that it is saturated with CO2 i dont like it... roots like oxygen, not CO2 (i cant say for sure CO2 will be introduced but im not familiar with the reactions of carbonic acid and soil/roots/water(based on pH) because of this, i think you are better off using propper pH down/up for plants

That's what i was thinking too, that CO2 isn't beneficial to roots, as it isn't readily usable to the roots. But i've come across these studies here....

CO2 on the roots
CO2 on the roots part 2
CO2 on the roots part 3