Powdery mildew identification help

Miller39

420 Member

My first year growing outdoors and noticed this white starting only on the exposed to the sun fan and sugar leaves fearing it was mold I harvested a week early but I’m really not sure 100% is it powdery mildew? Knowing my luck it likely is.

0967F609-D090-47EF-B334-478CAB81B40F.jpeg

D66A431D-FB0E-4462-876D-FC7C2A695388.jpeg

3EADBFDB-2708-4EE3-8FD3-4B6A64658079.jpeg

The good news is that the plant seems about ready to harvest. You can bud wash at harvest to neutralize and remove the PM. If you have a few weeks left of flowering then you can spray with a citric acid solution to kill the mildew. I had the same thing happen to me last summer... this year it's a bunch of bud rot instead.

Well that’s the bad news being a big rookie I harvested thinking I could trim it off and save some of it. Never hearing of bud washing till tonight. It’s been drying in my garage for two full days now probably too late to bud wash eh? Wishing I had found this site a few days ago.

It's not ideal to do it once it's starting to dry. I think the reasoning is that the tricomes become more brittle and you're likely to effect the quality of the cannabis by knocking some off during the washing process... but at the same time the quality is already impacted from being covered in mildew so it's up to you. I would probably still do it but wait and see what some other people say first.

Well that’s the bad news being a big rookie I harvested thinking I could trim it off and save some of it. Never hearing of bud washing till tonight. It’s been drying in my garage for two full days now probably too late to bud wash eh? Wishing I had found this site a few days ago.
I wish I had found @420 before I panicked and put them in a hot mess of poor soil choice.
We are learning on the fly, There’s always next grow, no matter what happens :)