Pros and cons of topping from the 1st cut on up

kikikopa

Greetings and salutations to all forum members.

I've been debating whether to make any additional cuts on a plant that has been topped. I've been researching the topic and have not found the information that I'm looking for regarding the pros and cons of doing any additional topping after the initial cut. This is my first time engaging in this type of high-stress training as I've only done low-stress training previously so I need more knowledge to understand this process.

I would love to hear from folks who've topped their plants and what their corresponding result was. I'm interested in learning more about how each cut affects the plant and what the advantages or disadvantages are starting from the first cut and including any subsequent cuts.

So if you're an advocate of doing a particular number of topping cuts to your plant, would you be so kind as to please explain why you do what you do i.e. one cut is better because..., two cuts are better because..., three cuts are better because..., etc.

It can go like this: Hey kikikopa, I'm a long-time member of the 4-Cut Club and here's why I think four cuts are the optimal number of cuts... Something along those lines that includes the pros and cons. This information could/may/might be out there already but I've not be able to locate specifically what I'm looking for so I think that this would be helpful to all growers. You know the old adage: "measure twice, cut once"? I want to apply that principle to my plants with the knowledge that what I'm doing is warranted with all the potential risks and rewards taken into account.