Stewing time for flower in butter/oil?

Saxplayer

I’m wanting to really improve my knowledge around all things cannabis, but especially edibles, including tincture, butter and oils etc.

I know I’m pretty new to all of this, so if I ask a stupid question or two, please forgive me.

Okay, so first question I have, is why do you need to steep the de-carbed plant material for such a long time in the butter/oil etc?

I would have thought that the whole process should be quite quick. I mean, the trichomes are already de-carbed and they are on the surface (not inside the flower/bud itself), so why does it take so long for them to become detached and mixed with the oil? I have read anything between 3 and 8 hours recommended to “stew” the mix, but it doesn’t make sense to me?

Anyone here tried it for much shorter time?

Thank you
:cool: 🎷

Hey Sax, never done butter mostly tinctures & rso… but trichs are stuck like glue which typically requires either solvent, deep freeze, heat or heat & pressure to separate them properly. Also butter / oils are not a powerful stripping agent so more cook time buys more trichs being stripped and dissolved. Could defs be wrong here but I think magic butter machines take 8 hours to process a batch

Hey Sax, never done butter mostly tinctures & rso… but trichs are stuck like glue which typically requires either solvent, deep freeze, heat or heat & pressure to separate them properly. Also butter / oils are not a powerful stripping agent so more cook time buys more trichs being stripped and dissolved. Could defs be wrong here but I think magic butter machines take 8 hours to process a batch
Thanks for that 013.

Hey sax player :ciao: