Trimming to produce a single cola

hossua34

Hey all. Since I'm still relatively new to this, I was wondering what the most effective (and safe) method would be to trim a plant so that it produces mainly one large, central cola. I ask because, hypothetically, I would be growing with floro tubes mounted vertically, to maximize the space I have.

Tried the whole search-engine bit, but couldn't find a straight answer. thanks

After 3 weeks of 12/12, cut off all side branches at the main stalk with a clean razor blade.
Leave the leaves that are attached to the main stalk.
There are strains that lend themselves better to this method. In fact, there are some strains that have almost no side branching at all.
I grew one strain (don't ask me what it was; I get clones from a variety of sources, but it was a pure Indica) that finished before anything else. It was short--about 3.5' tall when everything else finished at 6'--7', and it had a few small branches that grew upwards right along the meristem. It grew 1 large bud--about 2' long that weighed about 4 or 5 oz., with a few smaller buds on the meristem closer to the ground.

do not ever cut the plant while its in flowering. that is a big nono, sorry ranger, but cuting that plant while its in flower will more than likely kill it or the yield will not even be worth it. specially after 3 weeks. what i do is while in veg i'll cut the branch's or i'll flower from 2 weeks old.

Started a test on one yesterday Dank, time will tell.

Have 2 that are about 5-6 weeks or better into flower.
Since there are 2 and the heats are ready hampering my yeilds, want da' hell, figured I'd play with it.
Cut all the branches right up to the base of the cola.... looks ugly

Ok... so... yeah.

My question now is, if you don't wait til flowering to cut, how will you know which branches are useless and which will have productive bud sites on them?