Very new grower lots of dumb questions

Mr Ellis

420 Member
Hi Folks:

I am very new to this so thanks in advance for your patience. This is my first attempt at growing. I have 6 Indica dominant strains. Growing in an outdoor greenhouse in 20 gallon fibre pots with a local BC soil blend called Sea soil Complete. We are on the 49th parallel The clones grower suggested tenting (blacking out) the plants for 48 hours to encourage budding. When I took a closer look before doing his I noticed the growth at the stem bases in the pic. Is this a bud forming or just wishful thinking. What about the tenting any thoughts.

Attachments

• IMGP6049.JPG
    IMGP6049.JPG
    529.9 KB · Views: 133
  • IMGP6057.JPG
    IMGP6057.JPG
    786.7 KB · Views: 119
Welcome Ellis....nope, those are not buds forming...but they are clear indicators that you have a female so that's good news! I grow in a GH and it is a little big to tent, so I have no experience on that. However, I am @ 44N so your days are getting shorter than mine and I already have some photos budding...so the light is right and it depends on the strain. Are you in a rush? With a GH you can buy yourself some time as the temps drop (in Oct) as well as any early frosts. Since it is your first grow, my advice is watch and learn....the plants will show you how they do it...then next time you can go hacking their light schedule.

One piece of advice...when they start flowering make sure they are not touching the poly...the condensation will rot the buds.

Overall, looks like you are in good shape.

:goodluck: