What light 2 get?

Smoke4Life

Hello, I am new to growing and am getting a 39" x 39" x 79" grow tent. The question I have is will a 400w light be good for this size tent or should I step up to a 600w? I will also be getting a carbon filter and fan to help with the heat but should I get a 4" or step up to a 6"?

Thanks for any info and happy smoking:passitleft:

Re: What light 2 get???

more watts are always better but cost more... (at first, & power bill as well )

I came to say exactly what sfhaze already dropped on you. The LED procon outweighs a 400w hid in every way. It only consumes 90watts and puts out dramatically less amounts of heat. Very effecient to say the least

Thanks for all the replys... I think I will go with the 400w MH-HPS. I have done alot of reading about the LED's and I don't want to waste my money (I know the MH-HPS lights work great for growing) I just wanted to make sure I am getting the right size.

I started out with all 400's. I'm in the process of replacing them all with 600's. Just something you may wanna think about. If I were you. I would get a 600 watt HPS lumatek digital ballast with an EYE hortilux HPS bulb which works great for veg and flower. Ofcourse make sure you get yourself a ductable hood. Size duct depends on the size motor your gonna use.

Ya stizzle I thought the same thing about LED until I saw an article by Jorge Cervantes doing a side by side comparison with a 400watt HPS and the LED yielded slightly more so I figured it was legit. I admittedly never looked any futher then that though

Ya stizzle I thought the same thing about LED until I saw an article by Jorge Cervantes
Jorge has earned the great reputation of why he is where he is. No Doubt about it.
He is a Master Horticulturalist.