Whitefly problem for first timer

BlaziNoob

Everything seems to be looking good for my babies, growing 3 and just transplanted them into bigger clay pots. Well as the title suggests I noticed these pesky whiteflies on my month old babies and an additional seedling which is a fee days old, and since it's my first time growing, I took to the net to find a homemade repellent because in my country you don't have any fancy gardening goods.

From what I found on the internet, I mixed 0.5 Teaspoon canola oil, 3 drops sriracha sauce ( tobasco was recommended but I didn't have any,) , a small squirt of hand soap and also garlic powder (pinch) all in 500ml water and created a solution which I sprayed onto my babies. After letting it sit for 10-15 minutes I noticed some whiteflies dead on the leaves which I wiped out, then I checked all the leaves to check for others, after which I misted them with plain water, set the fan on them to dry then misted twice again after they dried each time. Used an unscented imprinted tissue to gently wipe some of the oily residue from the plants.

My question was, that if any of you have any information or tips in regard to this issue and whether I'm doing it correctly or not, any help would be appreciated.

P.S I didn't spray them with the entire solution only about 15-30ml

Hey buddy, there's many different homemade repellents you can make. Including garlic, vegetable or corn oil, basil, cinnamon etc etc. I also heard that a small amount of hydrogen peroxide 3% is highly effective, which is something you can probably get from your local pharmacy. Start a journal of your grow if you can so we can follow...good luck :grinjoint:

I regularly put dryer sheets on the top of my soil to frustrate the burrowers and put up a sticky strip to get the flyers. This double edged strategy breaks the lifecycle and my problem with whiteflies has gone away.

DSCF48271.JPG