12/12 grow for first ever grow?

santiago19

Hi guys.

It is my first time ever growing.

I have setup a CFL(seedling to bud) grow space in my room with space for up to 2-3 plants.

I received some unknown seeds, which could possibly be a sativa, already in it's seedling stage under the lights and then I got some good quality bubba kush seeds yesterday and it's already germinating in a paper towel as I speak.

Seeing that it is in my room and the lights are bright as hell, I usually go to sleep at 10pm and therefor I can only ever put the plant on 16/8 cycle for seedling and veg. (Put it on at 6am and off at 9:30 or 10pm)

So my question is, seeing that it is my first ever grow, do guys think that it would maybe be more viable to just do the whole grow in 12/12? The reason for this is because I will only be able to host 2 plants and the possibility for both being males are quite good? I will be disappointed and it could possibly put me off growing for life.

As you can see I really don't know how to put it in words.

Basically I would be disappointed if both plants turns out to be males after 12/12 of 2 months or so and would be willing to try again, but I would obviously be even more sad if I do the 16/8 and wait twice or three times as long just to find out that both are males and would probably quit altogether.

So, do you think I should do 12/12 from start to finish and see if I make it and like it? Or should I just push through and do 16/8 until half of desired size?

If I had space for 6 or 10 plants then I wouldn't be asking this question and would have pulled through with the 16/8.

Second question: In a few days time when I will be able to see if the seedlings are actually sativas, do you think I should scrap those plants and rather make space for the bubba kush? I heard that sativas grow long and indica grow short and bushy ( that is definitely what I want seeing that I have minimum space.)