Anyone know what may have caused this?

Morda Grown

I check my plants 3 to 4 times a day, today on my first walk I found this...
holeinstem.jpg

Being and outdoor grow I check my plants a lot, I have not seen any bugs except a few leaf hoppers. We do have a lot of tent caterpillars this year as well though I have not seen any on this plant. This hole goes all the way through the stalk and into the hollow of the main stem. Is something nesting in the stem?

Hi morda grown.
The likelihood of something being in there is quite high, if I was a betting man I'd say yes.
That is what I'm afraid of, it is my only Bubba Kush this year too. I hate to kill it off to find out what it may be. I don't want to just ignore it either because It could invade other plants I have in the same area. :confused:

if youre not in flower i would definitely go for imidacloprid systemic action.

This is really creepy man.
What is that? I am kinda new at this. If it is a corn bore, I'm lost as to what to do next.

Imidacloprid is an systemic insecticide.

Some commercial growers use it, because the "systemic action" means its absorbed by the roots, and spreads via xilem to stems, leaves and if youre in flowering, flowers.

But study about your problem first, may have different options. Try to spot that damn creepy larvae.

You can likely dig it out they get in and dont go much farther. Then tape up your incision..

I wood make a length wise slit in the stem until you find the critter and kill it. The plant will repair itsuef but if you leave it in there the insect will eat all the zylem and kill the plant above the hole.

Imidacloprid is an systemic insecticide.

Some commercial growers use it, because the "systemic action" means its absorbed by the roots, and spreads via xilem to stems, leaves and if youre in flowering, flowers.

But study about your problem first, may have different options. Try to spot that damn creepy larvae.