Bert's Indoor Soil Grow Journal - 2017 - First Grow!

king bert

420 Member
Hey everybody, I am new to the grow game, but have been doing nothing but researching everything I can... I know I am still a clueless wanderer in the giant forest that is the art of growing marijuana. Got a pretty good deal on the local classifieds for a nice little bundle, including a 4x2x5 foot tent. Pretty stoked! I also bought a Roleadro 300 watt 2nd gen LED to save energy while the babes are little. I thought I would document this grow and make a journal out of it, so here it is :)

Specs:
Pot Size: 3 gallon smart pot (or should I go 5 gallon?)
Medium: Fox Farms Ocean Forest
Lights: (1) 300w Roleadro 2nd Gen.
Nutrients: Fox Farms line
Strain: 4 bagseeds
2 foot x 4 foot x 5 foot tall grow tent
2x clip on fans
6" iPower carbon filter (6" duct booster fan, outside of tent)
300w Roleadro 2nd gen LED for veg
HPS for veg (either 2x 150 watts or 1x 600w, would dim it to 400w)
Fox Farms Ocean Forest

I have 4 seedlings, but I planted one of them about a week before the other 3 (has about 3 nodes... in veg?). I started them in water, then to paper towels, and then to solo cups. I water them every 2 or 3 days or so, whenever the soil is dry. I water with pH ~6.0 water. I just moved the oldest one into a 3 gallon smart pot, which is sitting on a bed of rocks over a drip tray. So far, it looks like they have been digging the 300w LED (18/6 lighting schedule), but what do I know haha. I have a few questions about the future though.

1) will the 300w led be enough to veg 2-4 plants all the way until switching to flower?

2) Should I use 2 150w HPS lights or 1 400w HPS for flowering?

3) Should I switch to 250w or 400w MH at any point before flowering?