Best way to germinate seeds

put a wet wash rag on a plate and keep it wet . paper towel works as well but wash rag is less likely to break up when wet. put the seeds on it and fold in in to a square so the seeds r covered keep it wet and in a darker spot. they should sprou within 3 to 7 days . DO NOT get over excited to plant in soil. let the seeds germinate untill the white root is 1 to 3 inches long . gl

I'm very new at this but here's my input. I tried the papertowel method the first try, and after 10 days nothing had happened. Maybe I did it wrong I don't know that was just my experience. I tried two more seeds but this time I soaked them in a cup of water with a 1/4 tsp 3% hydrogen peroxide. Covered and let standing for 24 hours. The I planted them in the soil, little notch end up and had 2 successful germination's within 18 hours.

I don't use the paper towel method, and this is my reasoning; a tiny seed has a finite amount of energy available to it until photosynthesis can take place. If we are concerned about transplant shock in plants then why should a seed be subjected to TWO entirely different growing conditions before it has leaves?
When I want to start a seed, I wash my hands before handling it. I soak the seed for a few minutes to a couple of hours in lukewarm water, prepare the soil, and drop the seed in a 1/4" or less hole in the middle of the medium. Cover gently, put pot under a dome or a baggie, and leave it alone no poking, peeking, stirring, digging...a baby is trying to grow! Rapt inattention works best, IME. You want to be sure the "nursery" doesn't dry out, but other than that, hands off is the name of the game.
Seeds are magical!