Complete noob when it comes to soil. need your help!

Eros770

Hi guys,

I'm about to start my first grow. I have done hours and hours of reading and have learned quite a bit. However when it comes to actually growing any type of plant I am a complete noob.

I went to home depot and looked at some soils but didn't know anything about the subject at the time.

They didn't have much of a choice. The main soil they had was Scotts potting soil. I didn't write down much about the soil but i do remember most of the options read that they would feed the plant for up to 3 months or so. Does this mean it has time release nute.? I know that it isn't good to get time release soil.

If anyone can please help me out with differant types of soils i could possibly use and where they might sell these types of soils.

Re: Complete noob when it comes to soil...need your help!!!

save ur money and get some foxs farm soil.. try to stay away from time release soil.. i'v never used time release soil,but it can be done..:goodluck:

first off: thank you for responding!!!

second: I've heard of Foxfarm but i have no idea where to buy it or what to mix with it. Can you help?

depends where you are located

your average hardware store will not have fox farms
you need to find a hydroponic or gardening store locally in your city or located within a reasonable distance in which you are willing to travel

also ff happy frog is better for cuttings/ baby clones and ocean forest is better for more mature plants around 3 weeks or so, it will feed for the first 3 months

and ocean forest is a good medium all by itself, no need for mixing in anything unless of course for some reason you need to add perlite/vermiculite to loosten it up a bit but it should be ok

Sweet, thanks dude. I live in NY there's a hydro store like 3 mins from my house. Any idea how much foxfarm runs? or how much the other ones are?

Do you mix anything with foxfarm? or is it good to go out of the bag?